Maid on the Shore - John Renbourn's Group

Nu när jag har min mini folk-rock revival kan jag skriva om ett band och en sång till som jag tycker om.
John Renbourn är en fantastisk gitarrist, precis som Richard Thompson. Och han har haft en del olika band. Bland annat John Renbourn Group, med Jacqui McShee som sångerska. Jacqui är inte lika söt som Sandy Denny (hon har ett ganska typiskt engelsk utseende, och det är svårt att överhuvudtaget hitta bilder där hon visar sitt ansikte) och kanske därför inte lika känd. men hon har en underbart vacker röst, med mycket höga drillar.
På albumet Enchanted Garden finns deras bästa sång: Maid on the Shore. Förutom att den har en underbar hög melodi och Jacqui sjunger sitt yttersta ("Rivaling Sandy Denny's best", som det står i
All Music Guide), har den också en fyndig text om en singelflicka som bor vid havet och inte vill bli räddad av rika kaptener. Jag tycker om två saker speciellt. Dels att sista versen är samma som den första, att hon liksom befäster sitt singelskap. Sen tycker jag verkligen om att hon använder hans svärd som åra också. Det är en ganska tydlig fallossymbol hon åker iväg med.
Jag tycker att det här kan vara ett singel-anthem för Göteborgsflickor.

There is a young maiden, she lives all alone,
She lives all alone on the shore
There is nothing she can find to comfort her mind,
But to roam all alone on the shore, shore, shore,
But to roam all alone on the shore.

‘Twas of the young captain who sailed the salt sea,
that the wind blow high, blow low.
I will die, I will die, the young captain did cry,
If I don’t have that maid on the shore, shore, shore,
If I don’t have that maid on the shore.

Well I have lots of silver, I have lots of gold,
I have lots of costly ware-o
I’ll divide, I’ll divide with my jolly ship’s crew,
If they row me that maid on the shore, shore, shore,
If they row me that maid on the shore.

After much persuasion, they got her aboard,
Let the wind blow high, blow low.
They replaced her away in the his cabin below,
Here’s adieu to all sorrow and care, care, care,
Here’s adieu to all sorrow and care.

They replaced her away in his cabin below,
Let the wind blow high, blow low.
She’s so pretty and neat, she’s so sweet and complete,
She sung captain and sailors to sleep, sleep, sleep,
She sung captain and sailors to sleep.

Then she robbed him of silver, she robbed of gold,
She robbed him of costly ware-o.
Then took his broad sword instead of an oar,
And paddled away to the shore, shore, shore,
And paddled away to the shore.

Well me men must be crazy, me men must be mad.
Me men must be deep in dispair-o.
For to let you away from my cabin so gay,
And to paddle your way to the shore, shore, shore.
And to paddle your way to the shore.

Well your men was not crazy, your men was not mad.
Your men was not deep in dispair-o.
I deluded your sailors as well as yourself
I’m a maiden again on the shore, shore,
I’m a maiden again on the shore.

Well there is a young maiden she lives all alone.
She lives all alone on the shore-o.
There is nothing she can find to comfort her mind.
But to roam all alone on the shore, shore
But to roam all alone on the shore.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback